Current Shows

Flickering Jagged Angles, © BIll Brookover, 2012. Woodcut, 7 7/8" x 4 7/8".

Flickering Jagged Angles, © BIll Brookover, 2012. Woodcut, 7 7/8″ x 4 7/8″.

This week I made my final selections for the two opportunities to show my prints this summer. The first piece is on view at Fleisher Art Memorial as part of the 115th annual faculty exhibition, July 12 to August 10. This piece is a woodcut print I made in a workshop at Fleisher last summer. Katie Baldwin taught a week-long intensive class on moku hanga Japanese woodcut using Akua waterbased inks. In five long mornings, we learned how to transfer our images to shina woodblocks, how to cut the blocks (boy, did my hands hurt!), and how to ink the blocks for printing on thin Japanese paper. I wasn’t happy with the results from my original plan, but found a way to use the  blocks to make something I was satisfied with. I was working with an image I had used a number of years ago based on a rotating open triangle figure. I used two wood blocks to create some depth in the image. I wasn’t happy until I printed the top block a second time to create cross patterns in the triangles. Then I saw the flickering lines I was looking for.

Dark Bubbles Rising - Red Window (Reverse), © Bill Brookover 2013. Woodcut collaged onto monoprint, 10" x 7".

Dark Bubbles Rising – Red Window (Reverse), © Bill Brookover 2013. Woodcut collaged onto monoprint, 10″ x 7″.

The second piece will be on view at the Crane Arts Building as part of the Second State Press members show from August 3 – 24. I used one of the castoff woodcut prints as part of a collage onto a monoprint I made in another Fleisher workshop. Kathryn McFadden taught a class in monoprints. In six evenings we learned to make additive monoprints, subtractive monoprints, and ink transfer prints. I’ve not spent a lot of time around a printing press using oil-based inks, so it was a whole new world for me. I produced a few prints that were pretty successful, and several prints I just wasn’t excited about. Those I used with the not so happy woodcuts to make a series of collages that got my jets fired. This is one of the better examples from that work. I like the way the colorful yet orderly geometric pattern on top works with the chaotic organic gray image below.

You can see more of the collages and woodcuts in the Recent Work folder at my website, billbrookover.com.

You can come to the opening reception at Fleisher this Friday, July 12, from 6 – 8 pm. The show will be on view through August 10.

You can come to the opening reception at the Crane Arts Building on August 8. The show will be on view through August 24.

Leave a Reply

