Narrowing Down the Choices

I’ve been working this week in the studio deciding what to submit to the 2 upcoming shows at Fleisher and the Crane Arts Building. I’ve been working on collaging woodcut prints onto the monoprints I made last summer.

early versions of collages, cutting into woodcuts

early versions of collages, cutting into woodcuts

First I cut a window out of one of the woodcuts and pasted it face down onto the monoprints. This opened up the image to include more of the detail line work in the monoprint. I like the contrast between the gray monotone color below and the varied color from the back of the thin Japanese paper on top. I also like the way the organic random shapes of the monoprint interact with the  geometric patterning of the woodcut.

Then I cut out more windows from other woodcuts and collaged them onto color proofs from that project. Again, opening up the triangles where they coordinate with the lower layer creates more space in the images. But I was working too fast and didn’t trim things down square, so they look kind of wonky, so they go back onto the new work pile for a future project. Good first tries, though!

more collages, with original woodcuts and a monoprints

more collages, with original woodcuts and a monoprints

Next I trimmed more carefully, and tried more options. I pinned them to the wall in the studio and gave them a long look. I find it helps to live with things for a day or two. That let’s me get beyond initial reactions (what crap!) and let more careful responses emerge. That’s also how I discovered the wonky lines in the first batch.

Wednesday I submitted one of the more complex woodcuts to Fleisher show  (top row center). I’ve narrowed down to two collages for the Crane Arts Bldg show (the two in the middle row). I have to submit this weekend, so will make my final choice in tomorrow.

Check back next week for the final choices.

Leave a Reply

